The title may sound a little bit politically incorrect, but it's really not. Honest.
I had a revelation tonight when Jordan and I took a trip to the gym together. It was SO great to get a chance to unwind and work out. Don't get me wrong, I love a good massage, but I have more energy and I just feel better after I work out! So onto my revelation...
I'm ashamed to admit this, but before I had Jackson I compared myself to other women. Shocker, right? Oh and yea...I still do. BUT, now I feel relieved by the fact that I only feel the need to compare myself to other women who have children. Or at least babies. Sexy football cheerleader? Pft. Ok so she has a rockin' bod, but did she grow a baby and give birth to it? No? Well then noooo wonder she looks like that. Let's see her in a few years after that baby. Once I have this little internal dialogue I no longer feel threatened by her in any way. Nor do I feel the need to work out harder or eat healthier. Isn't that awesome?! I do realize that women without babies or children have to work on being fit and healthy (because goodness knows it wasn't easy for me before Jack) but now I can just throw them into a category I don't fit into and continue on. :)
I remember when I used to go to the gym on base in high school and think people were looking at me because I was so obviously cute. (Yea...sad, isn't it?) After being in the military I realize the guys were looking at me wondering why the school bus let me off there, and after having a baby I realize the women were trying to determine if I had a child...and upon realizing I didn't, ignoring me.
No comments:
Post a Comment