Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Patience

I've never been the most patient person in the world. Ok, scratch that. I've probably always been one of the least patient people in the world! I was so nervous after I went to the hospital a few weeks ago that I honestly stayed in bed until Jordan got home. Some voice in my head was sure that if I even walked Baxter around the block I'd SURELY go into labor minutes later. That voice clearly was overly emotional and hormonal, because here I am several weeks later having walked around many blocks, through many stores and even having worked out and NOTHING! I've gone from feeling quite sure Jackson would be arriving early to wondering if he'll ever come out. (Yes, yes, I realize it's inevitable.)

Overall I think pregnancy has been a really fun time. Admittedly I was sick for quite a bit of my first trimester, and Jordan was gone for quite a bit of my second, but otherwise I've enjoyed it. Before I got pregnant and heard all the moaning and complaining from pregnant women I always sort of thought, "oh pish posh. It can't be all that bad. Suck it up, woman!" Humph. Turns out I was just a little bit hasty in my judgment. Morning (scratch that, all day) sickness, extreme fatigue, inability to get out of a lying position any way other than rolling out and landing on my hands and knees as well as feeling like this child inside me must be around 15 pounds at this point are significant enough points in favor of whiny pregnant women.

I've also got to say that I've realized Jordan and I had very little idea of what we were getting ourselves into! Don't get me wrong, I'm still very content with our decision to start a family, but it's going to be one wild ride I think! And probably somewhat similar to those rides that make you want to giggle in glee sometimes because you feel like you're flying but that also make you want to throw up or pass out at others.

I started this happy little blog with the intent of posting about my new experiences in motherhood, under the assumption that they would begin pretty soon after my last post....obviously not so much. I'm still incubating.

1 comment:

  1. Believe me girl I know how you feel. I started having contractions at 34 weeks and was 1cm and 50% effaced. Every DR. kept telling me that I would never make it to my due date and by 37 weeks I was ready for Kahla to come. She had other ideas though! I ended up doing everything imaginable to get that kid to come out. Nothing worked! I ended up having to be induced because she was 2 weeks late!!! I will be praying for his arrival and for a speedy and safe delivery.

    ReplyDelete