Monday, July 12, 2010

Stories of death and destruction

Ok, maybe not death and destruction, but at least pain and agony. Let me explain.

Women love to talk. We all know that. Well it turns out women especially love to talk about the birth of their children and experiences while pregnant. Hey, bring it on I say. BUT could we keep it to happy, smiling stories? I don't even care if we have to make them up at this point but please can we just end the sharing of stories centering around pain and agony?! Nearly every person I meet asks me when I'm due, which is totally fine. I tell them, and at least half of the people insist on following that up with a story about their third cousin on their husbands side who was not only 2 weeks late, but also was in labor for 8 days or some ridiculous amount of time. Why? Why do you feel the need to share this particularly grisly story with me? I'm a happy first timer here, purposely ignoring negative possibilities.

Starting yesterday I started to feel sort of like I had the flu. Just nauseous and sort of weak and tired and overall yucky. Since I routinely get asked by strangers how I'm feeling (presumably since I look like a swallowed a basketball....or maybe a beach ball is more accurate), I've decided I may as well be honest. So yesterday everyone that asked got the answer, pretty nauseous and sick. ...Ugh. You guessed it. "Oh that's nothing. My ex sister in law threw up everything she ate two weeks before her due date until she collapsed in the middle of a Walmart one day and her baby almost died. You should just go to the hospital now." Really? Why? Why do you say these things to me?

So if anyone has a happy story about how their late great aunt was sick for a couple days and then BAM!, went into labor, I'd love to hear it. Either way I think I'll just pretend it's a sign that labor will be starting soon and remain in my happy little bubble. :)

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Patience

I've never been the most patient person in the world. Ok, scratch that. I've probably always been one of the least patient people in the world! I was so nervous after I went to the hospital a few weeks ago that I honestly stayed in bed until Jordan got home. Some voice in my head was sure that if I even walked Baxter around the block I'd SURELY go into labor minutes later. That voice clearly was overly emotional and hormonal, because here I am several weeks later having walked around many blocks, through many stores and even having worked out and NOTHING! I've gone from feeling quite sure Jackson would be arriving early to wondering if he'll ever come out. (Yes, yes, I realize it's inevitable.)

Overall I think pregnancy has been a really fun time. Admittedly I was sick for quite a bit of my first trimester, and Jordan was gone for quite a bit of my second, but otherwise I've enjoyed it. Before I got pregnant and heard all the moaning and complaining from pregnant women I always sort of thought, "oh pish posh. It can't be all that bad. Suck it up, woman!" Humph. Turns out I was just a little bit hasty in my judgment. Morning (scratch that, all day) sickness, extreme fatigue, inability to get out of a lying position any way other than rolling out and landing on my hands and knees as well as feeling like this child inside me must be around 15 pounds at this point are significant enough points in favor of whiny pregnant women.

I've also got to say that I've realized Jordan and I had very little idea of what we were getting ourselves into! Don't get me wrong, I'm still very content with our decision to start a family, but it's going to be one wild ride I think! And probably somewhat similar to those rides that make you want to giggle in glee sometimes because you feel like you're flying but that also make you want to throw up or pass out at others.

I started this happy little blog with the intent of posting about my new experiences in motherhood, under the assumption that they would begin pretty soon after my last post....obviously not so much. I'm still incubating.